Young Blues bow out of cup

et3Enfield Town 3-3 Bishop’s Stortford. (Enfield Town win 4-3 on penalties)

Velocity Trophy semi-final, 13th February 2019

Having won two shoot-outs in previous rounds to make the semi-final, the Blues bowed out at the QEII Stadium with former stopper Joe Wright saving twice in the shoot-out to send the Towners through.

The Blues were depleted with four players cup tied and four more missing through injury and included a number of development players amongst their squad, whilst Enfield had the luxury of naming the same starting XI from the previous Saturday.

Despite both teams registering a number of early corners there were no real chances of note until the Blues took the lead on 27 minutes. Jack Thomas fed Ben Worman on the right whose cross was met by Alfie Mason at the back post.et5

Both Worman and Olly Miles came close with long range efforts shortly thereafter before some heroic last gasp defending from Sam Robbins saved the Blues as he cleared Sam Youngs effort from the line with Janata beaten.

The Blues remained on the front foot early in the second half and doubled their advantage on 63 minutes when George Craddock took aim from 20 yards and found the bottom corner of the net via a fortuitous deflection that left right stranded..

et2The home side responded immediately with a treble change and it paid dividends when Sam Youngs slotted past Janata from close range on 67 minutes.).

The hosts levelled less than 60 seconds later when Bricknell set back for substitute Josh Daviso who fired high into the top corner from 20 yards.

Alfie Mason rattled the post with a low effort shortly after before the Blues regained the lead when Worman produced a fine finish to defeat Wright from a seemingly impossible angle just inside the area..

The Blues seemed destined for the final until deep into stoppage time when a long throw from Matt Johnson evaded everybody and was tapped home by Bricknell

et4The match went straight to penalty kicks and despite succesfull efforts from Kyprianou, Amoo and Renee, Wright kept out spot kicks from Worman and Chris Gregan and the Blues departed from the competition.


Stortford: Kyprianou scored

Enfield Town: Hatton scored

Stortford: Amoo scored

Enfield Town: Bricknell scored

Stortford: Worman SAVED

Enfield Town: Blackman scored

Stortford: Renee scored

Enfield Town: Youngs scored

Stortford: Gregan SAVED

Enfield Town: Joe Wright, Ryan Blackman, Mickey Parcell, Matthew Johnson, Sam Hatton, Dan Rumens, Sam Youngs, James Mulley (Sam Chaney, 58), Billy Bricknell, Karl Oliyide (Aaron Greene, 58), Bilal Sayoud (Josh Davison, 58). Unused subs: Junior Mubiayi and Dan Heald.

Bishop’s Stortford: Arthur Janata, Johnville Renee, Christopher Gregan, Alex Warman, Sam Robbins, Hector Kyprianou, Benjamin Worman, Jack Thomas, Olly Miles (Stanley Green, 78), George Craddock, Alfie Mason (Jerry Amoo, 86). Unused: Unused subs: Izuchukwu Okwute, Haaroon Belaid and Lewis Wicker .

Attendance: 212