Blast from the past

Andrew Cornell looks back on Blues’ games on April 18th

dwightFour years ago today Blues won the Herts Senior Cup with a comprehensive 7-2 win against Oxhey Jets at Letchworth.

A rare goal from Alli Abdullahi got Blues on their way – and earned him a booking for a ridiculous celebration. Dwight Gayle finished with a hat-trick, with Ricky Sappleton, Reece Prestedge and Harry Milton completing the magnificent seven.

Meanwhile, our first game at Woodside Park on this date was in 2009 when we hosted Havant & Waterlooville. This was a typical end of season game, we were in ninth place out of reach of the playoffs while Havant were 15th but in no danger of relegation.

Despite the visitors having the best of the opening half-hour, Stortford were never really in danger after Danny Harris gave them the lead four minutes into the second half.

The first half was a dull affair, with a gusty wind ensuring that the long-ball technique favoured by both teams at the start of the match helped neither side to get a foothold in the game. The visitors had the best of the early chances when Nicky Eyre tipped Shaun Wilkinson’s free-kick over the bar, and then a minute later Luke Nightingale turned a weak shot straight at Eyre after a good run on the right from Craig Watkins.

Stortford’s first chance came when Danny Green dribbled past two defenders on the right to set up Danny Harris, but the Stortford striker shot wide. Around the half-hour mark, Danny Green’s free-kick from the left was punched clear by Nathan Ashmore, only for Havant to break quickly with Nicky Eyre diving to block Jay Gasson’s attempt.

Eyre again tipped over a Shaun Wilkinson free-kick before the Havant midfielder sent a dangerous corner into the box, but a powerful shot from Jamie Collins was headed off the line by Narada Bernard to deny the visitors the lead.

Stortford began to take a hold of the game before half-time, with Marlon Patterson sending a perfect pass across the pitch to Danny Green before Green’s pass to Danny Harris was hurriedly intercepted by the Havant defence. Just before half-time, Ian Simpenda had to be on his toes with a sliding tackle on Green just as he approached the Havant box.

Havant attacked right from the start of the second half, with the dangerous Luke Medley beating Ritchie Jones before shooting straight at Nicky Eyre. However, it was Stortford who took the lead when Marlon Patterson’s long throw to Lewis Smith was intercepted by Jay Smith, who put the ball into touch. Smith quickly took the throw to Danny Harris, who had got in behind the defence and was able to dribble into the box before firing a low shot beyond Ashmore into the net.

Minutes later, Lewis Smith made a good run into the box, with Reece Prestedge collecting the ball just outside the box and rattling the crossbar with a long range shot. Halfway through the second half, it was Smith again who tested Ashmore with a low shot after a superb cross from Danny Green, but the Havant keeper pushed his effort around the post. Stortford continued the pressure with Rory Hill having a powerful shot charged down from the rebound of the resulting corner.

Havant managed a few attacks of their own without ever troubling Nicky Eyre in the Stortford goal, and in the end it was a comfortable win for the Blues, who stay in 9th place, two points ahead of Newport County.

2015 BSFC 0 Gosport Borough 1 – Conference South

Larkins, Miller, Lee, Tabiri, Bailey-Dennis, Hayles, Sellears, Church, Pearson, Merrifield, Edgar Subs: Walker, Barrington Unused: Peters, Marlow, Gill

2013 BSFC 2 Hemel Hempstead Town 1 – Herts Charity Cup Semi-Final

Dodge, Sampayo, Herd, Bailey-Dennis, Francis, Cawley, Waller-Lassen, Webb, Woodall, Elmes, Abdullahi Subs: Greene, Sappleton, Lobjoit Unused: Baker, Johnson Scorers: Elmes, Greene

2012 BSFC 7 Oxhey Jets 2 – Herts Senior Cup Final

Gill, Lampe, Dunbar, Abdullahi, Francis, Anderson, Gayle, Johnson, Sappleton, Prestedge, Milton Subs: Craig, Redgrave, Hunt Unused: Lettejallow, Pavett

Scorers: Abdullahi, Gayle (3), Sappleton, Prestedge, Milton

2009 BSFC 1 Havant & Waterlooville 0 – Conference South

Eyre, Jones, Barnard, Champion, Goodacre, Hill, D Green, Prestedge, Harris, Smith, Patterson Subs: D J Green, Essandoh, Lindie Unused: Angus, Wright Scorer: Harris

1998 Hendon 3 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Premier Division

King, Wardley, Edwards, Barrett, Campbell, Van der Velden, Comerford, Antoine,Conroy, Adekola, Gammons Sub: Taylor


1987 BSFC 0 Kingstonian 0 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Taylor, Nunn, Goodchild, Hopkins, Hull, Cassidy, Ferguson, Silkman, Hardy, Weddell, Baker Subs Unused: Wickenden, Wood

1985 Bognor Regis Town 1 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Taylor, Wickenden, Simmonds, Baker, Hull, Hopkins, Avery, Charles, Cardines, Staunton, Marshall Sub Unused: Harding Scorer: Staunton

1981 BSFC 3 Lewes 0 – Isthmian League Division 1

Moore, Blackman, Brown, Smith, Bradford, Avery, Sullivan, Knapman, Radford, Simmonds, Mitchell Sub: Worrell Scorers: Radford (2), Worrell

1978 Leatherhead 1 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Carrick, Perry, Tuddenham, Smith, Chattaway, Brame, Robb, Neill, Blacktin, Dear, Dillsworth

Sub Unused: Jackson


1977 Dagenham 6 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Division 1

Alcorn, Chattaway, Davis, Flack, Clarke, Massey, Gaine, Smith, MacKenzie, Gough, Twigg

Sub Unused: Tucker

1972 Kingstonian 1 BSFC 2 – Isthmian League

Moore, Sedgeley, Lawrence, Smith, Still, Sharkey, Mitchell, Merrifield, Devaux, Duggan, Whyte

Sub Unused: King Scorer: Smith (2)

1970 Redhill 1 BSFC 4 – Athenian League Premier Division

Cherry, Mitchell, King, Pettipher, Neeves, Hill, Duggan, Allaway, Devaux, Whyte, Slater

Sub: Gough Scorers: Duggan (3), Gough

1964 Wingate 1 BSFC 3 – Athenian League Division 2

Cherry, Rolph, Atkinson, Pope, Neeves, Wilson, Taylor, Smith, Gough, Saggers, Garrett

Scorers: Saggers, Gough, own goal

1960 Ware 0 BSFC 2 – Delphian League

D Cook, P Cook, Rolph, Pope, Newman, Neeves, Phelan, Butler, Horton, Wilson, Francis Scorers: Butler, Wilson

1959 Letchworth Town 5 BSFC 3 – Delphian League

D Cook, Lloyd, Atkinson, P Cook, Newman, Wilson, Adamson, Yates, Phelan, Horton, Wacey Scorers: Yates, Wacey (2)

1953 Hornchurch & Upminster 2 BSFC 0 – Delphian League

Fraser, Lloyd, Bradford, Lambert, Giles, Sullivan, Hobson, Yates, Whitaker, Johnson, Ewers Scorers: Yates, Ewers

1949 BSFC 2 Hoddesdon Town 3 – Spartan League Premier Division

Thain, Brooks, Bradford, Lambert, Hubbuck, Greenhalgh, Cropper, Yates, Giles, Mather, Page Scorer: Giles (2)

1938 BSFC 1 Wood Green Town 1 – Spartan League Division 1

Turnbull, Day, Hill, Polybank, Ship, Wood, Miller, Myers, Woods, Elliott, Herrington

Scorer: Elliott


1931 BSFC 2 The Rovers 0 – Spartan League Division 2 East

Vasey, Spring, Freeman, I Lawrence, Chapman, Mayes, Robertson, Haylock, Badcock, H Lawrence, Bass   Scorers: Badcock, H Lawrence


1930 BSFC 3 Hatfield United 0 – Friendly


1927 BSFC 2 Prokol Old Boys 0 – Friendly

1924 BSFC 1 Hatfield United 1 – Herts County League

Scotney, Piper, Walker, Smith, Chapman, de Boltz, Clarke, Wright, Goodey, Freeborn, Brazier Scorer: Chapman

1914 Hoddesdon Institute 2 BSFC 3 – East Herts League Division 1

Day, Rogers, ????, Cocks, Newey, Crockford, Brace, Bass, Reckitt, Marshall, Kelsey

Scorer: Reckitt (3)