Blast from the past

Andrew Cornell looks at Blues’ games on February 16th

A recent game on this date was in 2008 away to Lewes, who were leading the table and championship contenders. Blues were also in promotion contention lying in 5th place, however, having lost 5-1 at home to Lewes the previous November we were expecting a tough game.

Stortford came out showing determination and concentration, determined not to let Lewes score an early goal and the first half was a cagey affair. Lewes had not been on great form in the previous few games, while Blues had won their last three and the home side’s comparative lack of confidence and Stortford’s organisation in defence made for precious few goal chances. On 11 minutes Greg Pearson was found in the box by Danny Harris, but his shot was blocked by Steve Williams in the Lewes goal. Ahmed Deen and Pearson both also had chances which went close from free kicks. While Lewes had much of the possession they did little to cause Andy Young any worries in goal and so the teams went in at half time with the score at 0-0.

Lewes came out showing more energy in the second half, getting the ball forward more and making the Stortford defence work harder. Just after the hour mark came a moment of controversy when Lewes should have scored. Barr’s pass found Booth who scrambled the ball over the line, only for Young to claw the ball back and no goal was given, to the annoyance of the home fans and team. Despite this setback Lewes continued to dominate the second half and had further chances through Holloway and Drury which came to nothing. Just when it looked as though Blues would win a hard earned point it all went wrong. Gillman made a poor clearance and Booth chipped the ball over Young for an 86th minute winner. After the game Martin Hayes was full of praise for the performance despite the result, saying “We played well and defended well… against the best team in the league.”

We have only played once at Woodside Park on this date before and previously the last home league game on this date was in 1924! That was a Herts County League game against Hitchin Blue Cross which was drawn 1-1.

2016 Havant & Waterlooville 2 BSFC 1 – Conference South
Lovelock, Miller, Herd, Ekim, Lee, M’Boungou, Moore, Merrifield, Suarez, Buchanan, Wilmott Subs: Fowler, Ferrier, Lawrence Not Used: Abdullahi Scorer:Ferrier

2013 BSFC 1 Hinckley United 1 – Conference North
Pentney, Glasgow, Herd, Bailey-Dennis, Ujah, Cawley, Johnson, Abdullahi, Sturrock, Njie, Prestedge Subs: Baker, Roberts, Sappleton Not Used: Waller-Lassen, Webb,

2008 Lewes 1 BSFC 0 – Conference South
Young, Jones, Lunan, Edwards, Gillman, Stanbrook, Harris, Williamson, Pearson, Taylor, Deen Subs: Essandoh Not Used: Langer, Goodacre, Fazackerley, Welch

2002 Tooting & Mitcham United 2 BSFC 3 – Isthmian League Division 1
Desborough, Hannigan, Riches, Kyriacou, Fannon, Bowen, Hyatt, Wraight, Paul, John, Braham Subs: Taylor, Southam Not Used: Langer Scorer: Paul, Hannigan, John

1999 Ashford Town 1 BSFC 1 – Friendly

1993 Leyton 2 BSFC 2 – Isthmian League Division 1
King, Jordan, Claridge, Edmonds, Hopkins, White, Das, T Burns, Walker, L Burns, Ingielewicz Subs Not Used: Dance, Baxter Scorers: Das, Walker

1988 Farnborough Town 3 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division
Taylor, Hopkins, Nunn, Hull, McCayna, Jackman, Cassidy, Weddell, Gayle, Zacchau, Hoddle Subs: Wood Not Used: Saggers Scorer: Weddell

1980 BSFC 1 Hitchin Town 3 – Herts Senior Cup 2nd Round
Carrick, I Smith, Bradford, M Smith, Cooper, Blackman, Coakley, Eason, Bass, Simmonds, Ferry Sub Not Used: Coote Scorer: Simmonds

1974 Walton & Hersham 0 BSFC 0 – FA Amateur Cup 3rd Round
Moore, Gibson, Coombes, Lawrence, Still, Payne, Leakey, Smith, Bass, Dear, Murphy
Sub Not Used: Scott

1957 St Albans City 7 BSFC 3 – Herts Senior Cup 3rd Round
Kearsley, Duncan, Atkinson, Lloyd, Carter, Horton, Adamson Yates, Rolph, Hussey, Francis
Scorers: Hussey, Yates (2)

1952 Newmarket Town 3 BSFC 3 – Friendly

1946 BSFC 8 West Ham United ‘A’ 6 – Friendly

1935 Aylesbury United 6 BSFC 0 – Spartan League Division 1
Jackson, Springham, Crossman, Palmer, Peck, Sharp, Abslom, Christmas, Ship, Logan, Johnson

1924 BSFC 1 Hitchin Blue Cross 1 – Herts County League
Boxall, Smith, Walker, R E Punter, Chapman, de Boltz, Clarke, Wright, Brown, Freeborn,
R A Punter Scorer: R A Punter