Ebbsfleet United 1-1 (3-5 p) Bishop’s Stortford Match Report

Ebbsfleet United 1-1 (3-5 p) Bishop’s Stortford Match Report 9/12/23

Isuzu FA Trophy Third Round

Hamish Arnold 


Kane Critchlow marked his Bishop’s Stortford debut with an injury time equaliser before scoring in the penalty shootout as the Blues knocked out National League Ebbsfleet United in the FA Trophy Third Round on Saturday. Stortford scored five out of five spot kicks, and the progression to the Fourth Round means it is Stortford’s best run in the competition for 19 seasons.


Dominic Samuel forced Jack Giddens into an early save, blocking the shot with his feet before the rebound was put wide from the middle of the box from a through ball. Osman Sow made his full debut for the visitors and his low shot from 25 yards went narrowly wide. Mark Cousins saved Ryan Charles’ shot, before Sam Robbins won the ball back with a tackle and Mbunya Alemanji was denied by a great double save by Cousins. The corner was only half cleared and Jack Thomas’ half-volley was saved by Cousins. Charles made a diagonal run to the right side of the pitch and beat the offside trap to meet a through ball, but the defender recovered and made the tackle before he could shoot, and Cousins saved Darren Foxley’s long range strike. Samuel fired off target from 25 yards, and Giddens pushed away a low shot by Toby Edser for a corner. Luke O’Neill hit the side netting from a tight angle, with some at the Kuflink Stadium thinking the National League South champions had taken the lead. Sow saw his shot blocked and Foxley won a corner when his low cross was cleared. Gio McGregor’s corner was won at the back post by Mark Haines but Cousins was in place to thwart the Blues once more. Edser headed wide from a left wing corner for the Fleet, David Amoo’s shot was blocked by McGregor, before the rebound fell to Darren McQueen, who saw his shot saved by Giddens as the hosts pushed in the dying minutes of the first half. But it was Stortford who had the last chance before the break, with Sow heading onto the roof of the net from a deep free kick with Cousins off his line.


HT 0-0


McGregor’s whipped free kick from the left wing narrowly missed the target, before Foxley blocked a goal-bound header from a corner on the goal line at the other end. McGregor fizzed a pass into Sow’s feet, he turned to shoot but Cousins had rushed out to dive on the loose ball. Ex-Blue Greg Cundle came off the bench and scored with his first involvement in the match, in space in the left side of the box, he curled home into the bottom right corner. McQueen’s low shot took a deflection off target for a corner, and from a quick free kick, Giddens made the save at Samuel’s feet. Harry Beadle headed wide from a deep free kick, and substitute Rakish Bingham’s shot was parried by Giddens from the right side of the box, and the Stortford skipper made himself big again to deny McQueen late on. McGregor skied a shot from the edge of the box from substitute Manny Adebowale’s lay-off, and Dominic Poleon failed to convert an open goal chance with the ball not bouncing kindly, and Giddens claimed the loose ball. Into injury time and all bar Robbins had gone forward for Giddens’ free kick on the halfway line, the initial delivery was headed clear but only as far as McGregor who crossed the the far post where substitute Critchlow fired in a low shot into the bottom left corner, to send it to a penalty shootout. 


FT 1-1


Bishop’s Stortford took the first kick, in front of the home fans, with Alemanji, McGregor, Critchlow, Foxley and Zain Walker all finding the back of the net. O’Neill and Edser scored for the hosts, but Samuel fired his missed the target, before Bingham kept the hosts in it, but substitute Walker found the top right corner to progress to the next round.



Ebbsfleet United XI

1 Mark Cousins (c)

2 Luke O’Neill (Yellow card 57’)

8 Ouss Cisse

11 Darren McQueen

17 Toby Edser

21 Nathan Odokonyero (Bingham 61’)

23 Hayden White

24 David Amoo (Cundle 61’)

31 Dominic Samuel

33 Jordon Ibe (Poleon 61’)

36 Myles Kenlock


3 Joe Martin

7 Omari Sterling-James

9 Rakish Bingham

10 Craig Tanner

14 Dominic Poleon

15 Greg Cundle (Goal 64’)

22 Ben Chapman


Bishop’s Stortford XI

1 Jack Giddens (c)

2 Mark Haines (Adebowale 70’)

4 Jack Thomas (Yellow card 31’)

5 Sam Robbins

6 Harry Beadle

7 Gio McGregor (Assist 90+4’)

9 Mbunya Alemanji (Yellow card 34’)

10 Darren Foxley

11 Tosin Olufemi (Walker 81’)

14 Osman Sow (Critchlow 62’)

15 Ryan Charles


8 Ben Marlow

12 Manny Adebowale

16 Zain Walker

17 Aaron Greene

18 Kane Critchlow (Goal 90+4’)

20 Fraser Alexander


Attendance 586