Blast from the past

Categories: Uncategorized

Andrew Cornell looks back at Blues’ games on May 13th

The Clubcall Cup was originally a competition for all teams in the Conference, Isthmian, Northern and Southern Premier Leagues. In 1989 we had lost in a replay at the semi-final stage to a Barnet team who were also challenging for a place in the Football League. The following year the top Conference teams withdrew but the competition continued and this time we went one better and reached the final against Hyde United.

The final was played at the Victoria Ground, Bromsgrove, where there was a respectable attendance. Blues took the lead through a bizarre own goal. The ball struck a Hyde defender on the heel and then was lobbed over his helpless goalkeeper, I doubt whether the player could have done that again if he tried. In an even game this start was very helpful to Stortford and with a further goal from Devon Gayle they reached half time 2-1 ahead.

The second half saw a goal from Julian Bedford and a second from Devon Gayle before Hyde scored a second late on to make the score respectable, but it was a comfortable win for Blues to take the cup. They were able to attempt to defend the cup – losing on a Thursday night in Dover – the following year before the competition was scrapped.


We also played our last ever Athenian League game on this date, losing 3-2 to Leatherhead before going on to the Isthmian League.


1990 BSFC 4 Hyde United 2 – Clubcall Cup Final (At Victoria Ground, Bromsgrove)

Taylor, Jackman, Risley, Hopkins, Harrigan, Went, Bedford, Ryan, Young, Gayle, Manderson Subs: Tamblyn-Jones, Milbourne Scorers: Bedford, Gayle (2), og


1975 Wycombe Wanderers 3 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Division 1

Smelt, Woodrow, Johnson, Mears, Blacktin, Lawrence, Leakey, Watson, MacKenzie, Smith, Mulkern Sub Not Used: Little


1972 Wycombe Wanderers 1 BSFC 3 – Isthmian League Division 1

Moore, Sedgeley, King, Lawrence, Still, Sharkey, Mitchell, Merrifield, Devaux, Duggan, Whyte Sub: Smith Scorers: Duggan (2), Whyte


1971 Leatherhead 3 BSFC 2 – Athenian League Premier Division

Cherry, Mitchell, T King, Lawrence, Argent, Sharkey, Trott, S King, Devaux, Chappell, Skingle Sub Not Used: Atkinson Scorer: Devaux (2)


1950 BSFC 2 Hertford Town 1Herts Charity Shield Final

Wardell, Earl, Bradford, Lambert, Hubbock, Dixon, Whittaker, Milton, Brown, Beatty, Giles Sub Scorers: ??????


1933 BSFC 4 Bushey United 1Herts Senior Cup Final (At Hitchin)

Vasey, Spring, Chapman, Burt, Lawrence, Little, Badcock, Braithwaite, Johnson, Harknett, Underdown Sub Scorers: Badcock, Johnson, Harknett

Author: Dave Ryan