Blast from the past

Categories: Uncategorized

On This Day – April 9th


Without doubt the biggest game on this date was our FA Trophy semi-final second leg game away to Hucknall Town.


It didn’t look good as Blues had lost the first leg at home with a disappointing performance but they made a real game of it in Nottinghamshire and kept the home fans biting their nails for most of the game. A big travelling support cheered Stortford and Steve Morison, who was to end as the Trophy leading scorer for the season, missed an early chance. However the worst happened soon after as Ricketts headed a long ball down to Bacon who shot into the roof of the net to put the Notts side into the lead and two goals ahead on aggregate. Stortford pulled their socks up and pressed forward with Howell and Jackman both shooting over the bar after perhaps rushing the chances in their eagerness. Then disaster struck as the referee gave the home team a penalty for a foul by Ben Lewis. Hunter made no mistake with the spot kick and at 1-4 on aggregate it seemed as though Blues had only pride to play for. However Stortford showed great team spirit and got an all important foot hold in the game before half time. In a classic move Howell sent in a perfect corner and there in the 6 yard box was Duane Jackman who powered the first goal in with his head.


The second half started with end to end stuff as both teams won corners, Hucknall hoping to kill of the comeback and Blues desperate to keep up their momentum. The best chance came to the home side as Smith received a good ball from Bacon but shot over. Just on the hour Stortford levelled it on the day. Duane Jackman chased a long ball as only he could with his never say die attitude and he had the finish too, putting it past the rapidly advancing keeper. After that Blues had the best of the chances as they desperately tried to take the game into extra time. First Jackman shot over and then Morison missed two great chances from the edge of the 6 yard box as nerves began to show again. With only 6 minutes left a corner was headed down by Ricketts to Timons. His shot seemed to have been stopped on the line but the linesman judged it had crossed the line and that was the end of Blues Trophy ambitions as the game fizzled out disappointingly.


2016 Gosport Borough 0 BSFC 0 – Conference South

Lovelock, Vanderhyde, Herd, Abdullahi, Allen, Fowler, Moore, Church, Buchanan, Wilmot, Lawrence Subs: Furlonge, Fortnam-Tomlinson Not Used: Lawal, Ekim, Merrifield


2013 FC Halifax Town 1 BSFC 1 – Conference North

Pentney, Sampayo, Herd, Prestedge, Anderson, Francis, Johnson, Abdullahi, Woodall, Webb, Baker Subs: Cawley, Wilson, Elmes Not Used: Mattock, Dodge Scorer: Johnson


2012 Hinckley United 1 BSFC 3 – Conference North

Gill, Lampe, Milton, Abdullahi, Francis, Anderson, Gayle, Johnson, Sappleton, Prestedge, Melaugh Subs: Pavett Not Used: Lettejallow, Craig, Hunt, Redgrave

Scorers: Francis, Johnson, Melaugh


2011 BSFC 0 Basingstoke Town 2 – Conference South

Kitteridge, Lettejallow, Palmer, Deen, O’Cearuill, Anderson, Ming, Rance, Morris, Wappett, Bakare Subs: Hahn, Morgan, Bowditch Not Used: Prestedge, Dawson


2007 Basingstoke Town 1 BSFC 0 – Conference South

Young, Patten, Jones, Fowler, Champion, Gillman, Lockett, Edwards, Pearson, Turner, Fuller Subs: Porter, Midson, Essandoh Not Used: Goodacre, Wright


2005 Hucknall Town 3 BSFC 2 – FA Trophy Semi-Final 2nd Leg

Young, Kyriacou, Gwillim, Rainford, Lewis, Okuonghae, Howell, Parmenter, Morison, Jackman, Langer Subs: Hakim Not Used: Gillman, Riches, Thanda, Horne Scorer: Jackman (2)


1997 Harrow Borough 1 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division

King, Fox, Forbes, Jordan, Shuttlewood, Moss, Walker, Barnaby, Thomas, Riley, Cooper

Sub: L Burns Unused: Blake, Dean Scorer: Walker


1994 Billericay Town 0 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Division 1

King, Jordan, Claridge, Edmonds, Harrigan, Walker, Das, T Burns, Comerford, Adamson, Ingielewicz Sub: Scott Unused: White


1988 Dulwich Hamlet 2 BSFC 2 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Taylor, Nunn, Hopkins, Hull, McCayna, Hoddle, Barker, Weddell, Gayle, Wood, Sorrell

Subs: Gibson Not Used: Saggers Scorers: Gayle, Wood


1983 BSFC 3 Wokingham Town 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Welsh, Levy, Brown, Lawrence, Elley, Hull, Avery, Brooks, Sullivan, Worrell, Robb

Sub: Lynch Scorers: Worrell, Robb, Sullivan


1979 BSFC 2 Harwich & Parkeston 1 – Isthmian League Division 1

Carrick, Coakley, Blackman, Smith, Droy, Carvill, Reading, Eason, Ferry, Smith, Brame

Sub Unused: Doyle Scorers: Droy , Eason


1977 BSFC 2 Hayes 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Kitson, Chattaway, Davis, Flack, Clarke, Massey, Gaine, Smith, MacKenzie, Twigg, Gough

Sub: Tucker Scorers: Gaine , Twigg


1974 Bromley 0 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Division 1

Moore, Gibson, Lawrence, Webb, Scott, Payne, Leakey, Dear, Bass, Mitchell, Murphy

Sub Unused: Smith Scorer: Bass


1966 BSFC 5 Harrow Town 1 – Athenian League Division 1

Stooks, Rolph, Atkinson, Belger, Neeves, Duley, Powell, C Duggan, Baker, Gough, P Duggan, Scorers: Neeves, C Duggan (2), Baker, og


1964 Edmonton 0 BSFC 6 – Athenian League Division 2

Cherry, Rolph, Atkinson, Pope, Neeves, Wilson, Taylor, Duley, Gough, Baker, Smith Scorers: Atkinson, Taylor (2), Duley, Gough, Smith


1960 Barking 2 BSFC 1 – Friendly


1949 BSFC 2 Briggs Sports 1– Spartan League Premier Division

Thain, Brooks, Bradford, Lambert, Hubbuck Giles, ???, Mather, Bayford, Greenhalgh, Page Scorer: Greenhalgh


1938 Berkhamsted Town 1 BSFC 2 – Spartan League Division 1

Turnbull, Day, Hill, Polybank, Ship, Lowe, Miller, Mytton, Woods, Elliott, Herrington

Scorers: Mytton, og


1932 BSFC 3 The Rovers 0– Spartan League Division 2 East

Vasey, Spring, Piper, Burt, Chapman, Lawrence, Little, Braithwaite, Badcock, Harknett, Mayes

Scorers: Chapman. Little, Badcock


1928 BSFC 1 Leavesden Asylum 3– Herts County League

Boxall, Piper, ???, Mayes, ???, Chapman, ???, Wright, Fordham, ???, ???

Scorers: Wright


1927 BSFC 2 Saffron Walden Town 4– Herts & Essex Border League

Boxall, Wright, Bennett, Osborne, Thurley, Raybould, de Boltz, Chapman, Patmore, Vealey, Bass Scorers: Thurley, Bass


1921 BSFC 3 Cheshunt Res 0– East Herts League Division 1

Boxall, Smith, Walker, Thurgood, Witcher, Chapman, Clarke, Wright, Golder, Freeborn, Brazier Scorers: Walker, Wright, Golder

Author: Dave Ryan