Blast from the past

Categories: Uncategorized

Andrew Cornell looks back at Blues games on December 28th

In 2013 on this date we played a Hertfordshire derby on the Saturday following Christmas and Boreham Wood were the visitors. We were starting to show signs of a hangover following the big match day against Northampton in the FA Cup and after a Boxing Day loss to Chelmsford were hoping to get back to winning ways.

Once again we had a bad first half in which the match was lost as we went 2-0 down. The Blues were ineffectual from the first whistle with inaccurate passing and a lack of sharpness giving their opponents the edge. The opening fifteen minutes or so produced little action or excitement and was far from the atmosphere later in the contest. The deadlock was broken in the 19th minute by Wood’s first penalty. Reynolds’ pass up the right flank found Lipman with Callum McNaughton in pursuit. Lipman cut into the area along the goal-line and was brought down by the Stortford defender from behind. Mario Noto gave Joe Wright little chance with the spot-kick.

Three minutes later Andre Costa sent a pass forward into the Wood box that was just too far ahead of Liam Enver-Marum and keeper Russell collected the ball. Then, at the other end, Joe Wright dived to hold a low cross from the dangerous Jeffrey at his near post. Russell later held on to crosses from Costa on the left and Enver-Marum on the right but the Wood keeper had no direct shots to deal with in the first half.

The visitors doubled their lead in the 39th minute after Callum McNaughton mis-directed a pass in his own half straight to Austin Lipman who released Jeffrey on a run drifting in from the left which finished with a low drive from 18 yards that arrowed inside the near upright.


After such a poor display from the Blues in the first 45 minutes Rod Stringer made a double substitution on the restart with Tommy Fletcher replacing Callum McNaughton and Josh Fagbohun coming on for Andre Costa. Stortford were awarded a penalty in the 52nd minute when O’Loughlin wrestled Cliff Akurang to the ground at the near post at Reece Prestedge’s corner from the right. Prestedge duly sent Russell the wrong way from the spot which was the prelude to the start of the flare-up which at one point saw the Stortford skipper on the ground holding his forehead.


After several minutes delay Referee Alan Young sent off Reece Prestedge and Greg Morgan for alleged head-butting during the incident. He also yellow carded the visitors’ Jones for instigating the melee. Once the action started again the Blues looked a lot more dangerous and in the 62nd minute when Cliff Akurang was fouled by Jones 25 yards out on the left, Matt Johnson’s free-kick resulted in a glancing header from Liam Enver-Marum that was just wide of the far post. Then, a few minutes later, Harry Baker swung the ball in from the right and George Allen’s contact saw Russell hold on to the ball.


Another centre from the right by Matt Johnson in the 81st minute caused problems for Russell who somehow managed to turn the ball away for a corner past his back post. However, pushing forward Stortford were always liable to quick breaks from Wood and in the 88th minute substitute Graeme Montgomery sent Anthony Jeffrey clear and Tommy Fletcher fouled him just inside the area. Joe Wright dived in the right direction again but was unable to stop the penalty from Noto.

There was eight minutes of added time and during this period George Allen drove wide from the edge of the box after a Harry Baker cross had been cleared whilst Matt Johnson went close from 16 yards. Then, in the final minute, Wood were reduced to nine men as Mark Jones was shown his second yellow card of the afternoon following a poor challenge by the touch-line on Harry



2015 Concord Rangers 2 BSFC 2 – Conference South

Fitzsimons, Vanderhyde, Herd, Ekim, M’Boungou, Allen, Merrifield, Church, Suarez, Buchanan, Ferrier Subs: Gayle, Rowe Unused: Labonne, Muleba, Lovelock Scorer: Buchanan (2)


2014 BSFC 0 Havant & Waterlooville 2 – Conference South

Wright, Auger, Herd, Tabiri, Bailey-Dennis, Miller, Sellears, Church, Walker, Simmonds, McCall Subs: Sykes, Anderson, Young Unused: Merrifield, Fenwick


2013 BSFC 1 Boreham Wood 3 – Conference South

Wright, Miller, Herd, Allen, Francis, McNaughton, Johnson, Costa, Ever-Marum, Akurang, Prestedge Subs: Baker, Fagbohun, Fletcher Unused: Symons, Edwards Scorer: Prestedge


2009 Staines Town 2 BSFC 2 – Conference South

Eyre, Nunn, Jones, Lettejallow, Angus, Champion, Sulaiman, Southam, Brayley, Sheringham, Riddle Subs: Lathrope, Shulton Unused: Abdullahi, Llewellyn, Mason Scorers: Brayley, Riddle


2002 BSFC 4 Harrow Borough 0 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Desborough, Dorrian, Riches, Gould, Gwillim, Southam, Hyatt, French, John, Paul, Williamson Subs: Langer, Wolf Unused: Walker, Beale, O’Neill Scorers: Langer, John (2), Williamson


1998 Boreham Wood 1 BSFC 2 – Isthmian League Premier Division

King, Snowden, Waldron, Tucker, Honeyball, Edwards, Winger, Mahorn, Greene, Robbins, Cooksey Subs: Comerford, Bailey Unused: Gough Scorers: Greene, Comerford


1991 BSFC 2 Harrow Borough 0 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Taylor, Boyce, Sailsman, Went, Harrigan, Brownjohn, Empson, Stewart, Lawford, Petrou, Milbourne, Subs: Katsiounis, White Scorers: Lawford, Milbourne


1976 Tilbury 1 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Division 1

Kitson, Tucker, Davis, Flack, Clarke, Melvin, Gough, Massey, Dillsworth, Twigg, Gaine

Sub: Smith Scorer: Gaine


1974 Barking 2 BSFC 2 – Isthmian League Division 1

Moore, Dillon, Martin, Mulkern, Blacktin, Lawrence, Leakey, Childs, Greene, Smith, Dunning Sub Unused: Rufus Scorers: Mulkern, Greene


1971 BSFC 0 Barking 0 – Isthmian League

Moore, Sedgeley, Wilson, Lawrence, Still, Mills, Mitchell, Smith, Devaux, Merrifield, Francis

Sub Unused: Sharkey


1968 BSFC 5 Hounslow 3 Athenian League Premier Division

Mollison, Haggar, Mitchell, Hill, Edwards, Nisbet, Duggan, Hammond, Cheesewright, Chappell, Phillips Sub: ???? Scorers: Nisbet, Cheeswright, Chappell, Phillips (2)


1963 BSFC 2 Windsor & Eton 2 – Athenian League Division 2

Cherry, Deamer, Atkinson, Pope, Neeves, Wilson, Wacey, Smith, Gough, Saggers, Francis   Scorers: Neeves, Gough (2), Saggers


1957 Stevenage Town 0 BSFC 1 – Delphian League

Fox, Lloyd, Atkinson, Pope, Carter, Beale, Adamson, Yates, Horton, Williams, Wacey

Scorer: Horton


1946 Crown & Manor 4 BSFC 3 – Spartan League Premier Division

Sullivan, Thurgood, Johnson, Gillard, Brooks, Search, Perry, Arnold, Bentley, Lambert, Graham

Scorers: Bentley, ????, ????

Author: Dave Ryan