Blast from the past

Categories: Club News,Uncategorized

Andrew Cornell looks back on Blues’ games on September 23rd


When Yeovil Town played in the Isthmian League in the 90s they had a far better ground than most and bigger crowds as well, so we went there for a league game in 1995 it felt more like we were FA Cup giant killers than league equals.


Blues could be forgiven for feeling intimidated in a crowd of over 1600 and when they conceded the opening goal after just 16 minutes it did look as though the visitors might slip to defeat. New signing Leroy Whale latched on to a cross from the right wing to send the ball hme frm close range.


Stortford continued to soak up the hordes of green shirted attack as the half progressed, but looked to have gone 2-0 down with only seven first half minutes remaining only for Gavin King to produce the first of two memorable saves. Graeme Paxton was on hand to hook the ball away under considerable pressure.


On the stroke of half time the defending from Paxton was less commendable, although he looked to have been fouled before chopping down goalscorer Whale and conceding a debatable penalty. Former Harlow Town man Martin St Hilaire stepped up to take the kick but could only watch as King dived to his left and pushed the ball away to safety.


The second half began with Blues trailing 1-0 and with Andy Edmonds limping following a recurring injury sustained in mid-week. It was somewhat unfortunate that Edmonds had picked up the injury playing for the reserves against Stevenage, following a challenge from visiting striker (and now Blues new signing) David Thompson.


Ian Hollamby came on as replacement and made an almost immediate impact. Braithwaite laid a square ball in to Hollmaby who hit a first time drive which the keeper just blocked with his legs.


Barnaby made his first telling contribution of the match after 71 minutes. Braiithwaite played a neat pass to Thompson just outside the area. The ball was teed up for Barnaby to hit just over the bar.


Two minutes later Blues were level following a foul on Braithwaite. Andy Walker took the free kick on the right touchline and floated a superb ball to Hollamby. The substitute pulled away from his marker with ease and headed in off the post.


There was no stopping Blues from here as Yeovil seemed to panic into making mistakes and knocking the ball long upfield. Its wasn’t pretty to watch and the supporters in the huge stands running the length of each touchline were getting restless.


Ten minutes after the equaliser and Stortford had taken the lead. Dean Parratt picked the ball up 30 yards from goal. He took aim and rifled a shot at Tony Pennock in the Yeovil goal. The goalkeeper made a hash of saving and only parried into the path of Braithwaite. The Blues striker could hardly miss from 2 yards.


The game was slipping further from the home teams grasp as the minutes ticked away. Constant pressure from Blues was soon to be rewarded as Braithwaite took the ball into the corner to use up the last few minutes. He fed a quick pass to Walker who had arrived in support. It was Walker who made a quick dash into the area only to be brought down by Micky Engwell.


Walker took the penalty himself sending the goalkeeper the wrong way to claim the three points. It was unfortunate that captain Claridge was sent off at the death as tempers flared but this could take nothing away from a magnificent team performance.


2014 BSFC 2 St Albans City 0 – Herts Charity Cup Semi-Final

Gregory, Miller, Herd, Tabiri, Allen, Anderson, Sellears, McCall, Young, Sykes, Melaugh

Subs: Auger, Shaw, Suarez Unused: Fitzsimons, Wright Scorers: Sellears, Young


2006 Salisbury City 3 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Wright, Champion, Jones, Porter, Stanbrook, Gillman, Howell, Mason, Ademeno, Midson, Fuller Subs: Martin, Lockett, Langer Unused: Fowler, Young Scorer: Gillman


2003 BSFC 1 Thurrock 3 – Isthmian League Premier Division

Desborough, Allman, Gwillim, Rainford, Cooper, Barnett, Langer, Southam, Renner, Neill, McKeown Subs: Williamson, Essandoh, Black Unused: Wiltshire, Addai Scorer: Cooper


2000 BSFC 2 Bedford Town 3 – Isthmian League Division 1

Tucker, Foot, Kimble, Sedgwick, Bowen, Hercules, Yeoman, Southam, John, Paul, Williams

Subs: Gunn, Langer, Unused: Hayes Scorer: John (2)


1997 Dulwich Hamlet 5 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Premier Division

King, Fox, Sedgwick, Jordan, Shuttlewood, Wardley, Walker, Greaves, Cooper, Adekola, Comerford Subs: Barnaby, Thomas, Dean


1995 Yeovil Town 1 BSFC 3 – Isthmian League Premier Division

King, Paxton, Jordan, Claridge, Moore, Parratt, Barnaby, Edmonds, Braithwaite, Thompson, Walker Subs: Hollamby, Unused: Cooper, Wardley Scorers: Braithwaite, Walker, Hollamby


1992 Molesey 2 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Cup 1st Round

Mallett, Jordan, Claridge, Sedgwick, Hopkins, Burns, Petrou, Das, Fortune-West, White, Sailsman Subs: Pritchard, Dance Scorer: Claridge


1989 BSFC 0 Harrow Borough 0 – FA Trophy 1st Round Qualifying

Taylor, Jackman, Harrigan, Hopkins, Tamblyn-Jones, Hardwick, Bedford, Ryan, Dobson, Gayle, Young Subs: Forey, Barnett


1986 BSFC 1 Croydon 2 – Isthmian League Cup 1st Round

Taylor, Wickenden, Templeton, Staunton, Hull, Fletcher, Nunn, Ferguson, Hardy, Weddell, Newbury Subs: Tomkins, Hopkins Scorer: Newbury


1980 Eastbourne United 0 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Cup 1st Round

Moore, Smith, Brown, Blackman, Cooper, Avery, Mitchell, Knapman, Radford, Sullivan, Simmonds Sub Unused: Worrell Scorer: Radford


1978 BSFC 2 Finchley 3 – Isthmian League Division 1

Carrick, Holden, Bradford, Smith, Ferry, Carvill, Neill, Dear, Worrell, Doyle, Eason

Sub: Coakley Scorer: Doyle (2)


1975 Ilford 1 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Division 1

Kitson, Harris, Davis, Flack, Clarke, Mulkern, Leakey, Vickers, MacKenzie, Watson, Gaine

Sub Unused: Brown


1972 Wycombe Wanderers 0 BSFC 1 Isthmian League

Moore, Davenport, Lawrence, Smith, Still, Hounsell, Leakey, Mitchell, Dear, Davidson, Francis Sub Unused: Bunker Scorer: Davidson


1967 BSFC 3 Hornchurch 1 – Athenian League Premier Division

Cherry, Durham, Abbott, Duley, Neeves, Atkinson, Battram, Phillips, Nisbet, Chappell, Brown Sub Unused: Davenport Scorers: Atkinson, Nisbet, Brown


1961 Aylesbury United 1 BSFC 1 – Delphian League

Fox, Ralph, Atkinson, Pope, Neeves, Wilson, Harkness, Hollow, Horton, Jones, Francis

Scorer: Harkness


1950 BSFC 1 Hoddesdon Town 1 – FA Amateur Cup 1st Round Qual

Wardell, Wilkins, Bradford, Lambert, Clancy, Dixon Whittaker, Yates, Brown Hayes, Giles Scorer: Yates


1933 BSFC 2 Staines Town 0 – Spartan League Division 1

Vasey, Johnson, Spring, Burt, Haldin, Little, Abslom, Braithwaite, Beard, Mills, Underdown Scorers: Beard, Underdown




Author: Dave Ryan