Blast from the past

Categories: Club News,Uncategorized

Andrew Cornell looks back on Blues’ games on February 10th

The most recent game on this date in 2007 saw an important promotion clash as Blues in fourth place visited Welling United who were in second place. A very important game to both teams and Blues needed something out of the game to stay in touch with the leaders.

Due to problems with Welling’s floodlights, the game kicked off at 2pm, leading to a couple of Blues’ fans cleaning up with the bookies!

The game started with Blues kicking up the hill in winter sunshine. Within the first minute Danny Morgan had eluded his marker but was denied by David Wilkinson in the Welling goal. Morgan soon had another chance though and in the 8th minute he timed his run to perfection and picking up a deflection scored from eight  yards.

Welling came straight back down the hill and forced a succession of corners, scoring in the 10th minute when Steve Perkins rose at the back post to head home, although he seemed to climb all over Sam Taylow, while Chris Wright was also impeded.

The play was even and more cagey after that until a decisive moment before half time. The referee dithered when a flag was raised and when everyone seemed to be expecting a free kick he waved play on. A long ball by Leon Solomon found Danny Kedwell one on one with Chris Wright. The Blues keeper twice denied Kedwell only for the ball to ricochet off the striker’s body and in to the net to give Welling the lead at the death in the first half.

After the break Blues controlled play with the advantage of the slope and soon after the break Jordan Fowler forced a good save from Wilkinson. Morgan and Turner combined well several times before in the 62nd minute Morgan made space on the left and squared the ball to Max Porter (pictured)  who, rushing up the field scored from 15 yards with a fine shot.

Welling then fought back again, looking for the win that would enhance their promotion prospects and Tony Battersby was denied by a crucial interception from Michael Stanbrook. Craig Edwards and Ashley Fuller were brought on for Jason Mason and Sam Taylor and the fresh legs gave Stortford a new impetus. Welling began to fade and in the 89th minute Blues forced another corner. Fuller sent in a low corner at the near post which squeezed between Che Stadhart and Danny Morgan to go in for the winner.

Blues had to hold out from some desperate Welling attacks for 5 minutes of added on time before they claimed an invaluable win. With other results going their way this took Blues top of the table, just in time for the visit of second places Salisbury City.

2007 Welling United 2 BSFC 3 – Conference South
Wright, Patten, Gwillim, Porter, Stanbrook, Gillman, Fowler, Edwards, Turner, Morgan, Taylor
Subs: Fuller, Mason Not Used: Lockett, Collis, Young Scorers: Porter, Fuller, Morgan

2004 Braintree Town 2 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Premier Division
Desborough, Kyriacou, Wiltshire, Rainford, Cooper, Barnett, Martin, Southam, Drew, Langer, McKeown Subs: Howell, Bunn Not Used: Renner, Allman, Hayward

2001 Worthing 2 BSFC 3 – Isthmian League Division 1
Desborough, Risley, Kimble, Kyriacou, Fannon, Braham, Wolf, Southam, John, Paul, Langer
Subs: Gunn Not Used: Hercules, Hayes Scorer: John, Paul (2)

1998 Leyton Pennant 0 BSFC 1 – Eastern Floodlight Competition
King, Wardley, Joyce, Jordan, Day, Edwards, Antoine, Adekola, De Luca, Dean, Forbes
Subs: Walker Unused: Campbell, Sedgwick Scorer: Adekola

1996 BSFC 3 Hendon 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division
King, Wardley, Jackman, Shuttlewood, Barnaby, Parratt, Paxton, Walker, Hollamby, Conroy, Parkyn Subs Not Used: Cooper, Jordan, Roberts Scorers: Conroy, Shuttlewood, Hollamby

1990 BSFC 0 Kingstonian 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division
Taylor, Jackman, Risley, Hopkins, Harrigan, Went, Bedford, Keune, Young, Gayle, Manderson
Sub: Spence Not Used: Tamblyn-Jones

1987 Harrow Borough 2 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Premier Division
Taylor, Glozier, Goodchild, Hopkins, Hull, Templeton, Fergusson, Cassidy, Hardy, Weddell, Newbury Subs Not Used: Nunn, Barker Scorer: Weddell

1981 BSFC 3 Metropolitan Police 1 – Isthmian League Division 1
Moore, Blackman, Brame, Smith, Bradford, Avery, Sullivan, Knapman, Worrell, Gallagher, Clarke Sub Not Used: Harrigan Scorers: Sullivan, Worrell, Clarke

1979 BSFC 2 Dulwich Hamlet 1 – London Senior Cup 2nd Round
Carrick, Coakley, Bradford, Smith, Droy, Blackman, Droy, Eason, Ferry, Brame, Worrell
Sub: Reading Scorers: Eason, Worrell

1973 Boreham Wood 4 BSFC 4 – Herts Senior Cup 4th Round
Wiseman, Davenport, Coombes, Mitchell, Still, Lawrence, Leakey, Francis, Dear, Smith, Scott Sub Not Used: Davidson Scorers: Mitchell, Francis, Dear, Scott

1970 BSFC 2 Dagenham 1 – Athenian League Premier Division
Cherry, Ryan, King, Gough, Neeves, Hill, Whyte, Duggan, Allaway, Chappell, Slater
Sub: Moss Scorers: Duggan, own goal

1968 Leytonston 7 BSFC 2– FA Amateur Cup 3rd Round
Mollison, Durham, Mitchell, Hammond, Neeves, Abbott, Battram, Duggan, Nisbet, Chappell, Gough Sub: Atkinson Scorers: Neeves, Duggan

1962 Hemel Hempstead Town 1 BSFC 0 – Herts Senior Cup 4th Round
Fox, Yell, Atkinson, Pope, Neeves, Wilson, Harkness, Hollow, Welch, Smith, Francis

1951 BSFC 2 Ware 1 – Spartan League Division 1
Richardson, Wilkins, Bradford, Lambert, Hubbuck, Giles, Whittaker, Yates, Brown, Haggerwood, Ewers Scorers: Yates, Brown

1945 BSFC 3 RAF XI 8 – Friendly

1934 RAF Uxbridge 3 BSFC 2 – Spartan League Division 1
Vasey, Johnson, Balaam, Burt, Chapman, Wood, Corke, Pike, Bloyce, Scott, Underdown Scorers: Johnson, Scott

1923 Welwyn 2 BSFC 1 – Herts County League
Boxall, Smith, Walker, T Wright, L Chapman, J Chapman, Freeborn, Bavin, Brazier, Punter, Martin Scorer: Bavin

Author: Dave Ryan