Blast from the past

Categories: Uncategorized

Andrew Cornell looks back on Blues’ games on January 26th

There have been comparatively few games on this date in recent years with no goals since 1985 and the last win coming in 1980. The only recent game saw us travelling to Ship Lane to play Thurrock in a Conference South game in 2008. Both teams were in mid-table at the time.
For the third time that season, a single goal separated the two sides and Rob Swaine provided the only goal of the game just before the half hour. Stortford gave an improved second half showing, after a drab first half but despite forcing a succession of corners late on, the Thurrock defence, held firm.
The home side came out of the traps quickest. With a strong wind behind them, they put Blues’ defence under pressure from the first whistle. Che Stadhart’s shot on three minutes was the first of several efforts that could have seen Thurrock take an early lead, but Joe Welch saved well. Fola Orilonishe curled in a shot soon afterwards that Welch was again equal to, pushing the shot round his post and out for a corner. On 12 minutes Welch was again called into action. Craig Hughes set up Stadhart, but the striker, who came close to joining blues during Paul Taylor’s reign in the nineties, saw his shot saved by another Welch dive and parry.
Just before the half hour mark, the home side took the lead. From a harsh free-kick decision, Greg Lincoln whipped in a cross, Stadhart rose to flick on the cross and giant defender Rob Swaine directed the ball firmly into the net. By half time the score remained 1-0.
With the wind now behind them, Blues dominated the second period. Greg Pearson came close to equalising on 50 minutes, but his hooked shot from Roy Essandoh’s header, was well-saved by David Blackmore in the Fleet goal. Essandoh himself was presented with a decent opportunity when set up by Pearson, but his shot on the turn was a poor one and Blackmore easily gathered the ball.
Thurrock broke away on two occasions. Matt Jones was dispossessed by Stadhart who shot low down to Welch’s right, but the Stortford custodian was down quickly to prevent a second goal. Welch was somewhat fortunate minutes later when he appeared to bring down Lincoln in the penalty area. luckily, the inconsistent man in black awarded a goal kick!
Martin Hayes made three substitutions in the final ten minutes as Blues turned up the heat. With just injury time remaining, Blues missed their best chance of the game. Michael Stanbrook guided a header into Ahmed Deen’s path. but Deen could only shoot over from as close as the penalty spot and the chance of a point had gone.

2008 Thurrock 1 BSFC 0 – Conference South
Welch, Jones, Lunan, Edwards, Goodacre, Stanbrook, Fazackerley, Mason, Pearson, Essandoh, Deen Subs: Gilman, Langer, Harris Not Used: Williamson, Young

1991 Enfield 0 BSFC 0 – Isthmian League Premier Division
Taylor, Bedford, Risley, Harrigan, Went, Hardwick, Ryan, Parker, Joseph, Fortune-West, Manderson Sub: Miles Not Used: Adebowale

1985 BSFC 1 Epsom & Ewell 1 – Herts Senior Cup 2nd Round
Welsh, Wickenden, Brown, Cardines, Hull, Hopkins, Avery, Lynch, Walsh, Simmonds, Smith
Sub: ?????? Scorer: Walsh

1980 Wokingham Town 0 BSFC 1 – Isthmian League Division 1
Carrick, I Smith, Bradford, M Smith, Cooper, Blackman, Coakley, Eason, Bass, Coote, Knapman Sub: Simmonds Scorer: Coote

1974 BSFC 2 Hitchin Town 1 – FA Amateur Cup 2nd Round
Moore, Gibson, Coombes, Lawrence, Webb, Payne, Leakey, Scott, Dear, Smith, Mitchell
Sub Not Used: Tone Scorers: Lawrence, Leakey

1957 BSFC 5 Tufnell Park Edmonton 3 – Delphian League
Kearsley, Duncan, Atkinson, Lloyd, Carter, Price, Adamson Yates, Rolph, Hussey, Francis
Scorers: Yates, Adamson, Rolph (2), Hussey

1952 BSFC 3 Wembley 2 – Delphian League
Fraser, Dady, Wilkins, Lambert, Hubbuck, Atkinson, Whittaker, Yates, Brown, Harvey, Giles
Scorer: Brown (3)

1946 Stevenage Town 1 BSFC 1 – Herts Senior Cup 1st Round
Harding, Springham, Connolly, Dedman, Search, Wright, Kitchener, Hanratty, Bayford, Holgate, Gurnett Scorer: ??????

1935 Jurgens (Purfleet) 5 BSFC 1 – Spartan League Division 1
Taylor, Springham, Wood, Spring, Peck, Sharp, Herrington, Elliott, Christmas, Logan, Johnson Scorer: Christmas

1929 Harlow Town 5 BSFC 1 – Stansted & District League
Beale, Piper, Childs, Osborne, Mayes, Chapman, Elderton, Elliott, Wright, Galloway, Runacres Scorer: Wright

1924 BSFC 2 Ware 2 – Herts County League
Boxall, Smith, Walker, Punter, Brown, de Boltz, Clarke, Wright, Goodey, Chapman,
Brazier Scorer: Goodey (2)

Author: Dave Ryan